Tags

, , , , ,

Not only have I returned to the same job, in the same area in which I started blogging; but I’m sitting in the exact seat that I wrote my first ever post in.

(This, incidentally, is also the cause of my recent silence. As I was travelling and setting in for the last week, I have had no internet – but I’ve still been writing!)

And now, here I am. It’s one year later, I’ve done a full circle, and I’m writing my 99th blog post.

One year older, 15,000 views later, and with a year of experience under my belt and no less passionate about English than I was 365 days ago. 

When I sat down to write that first post, it could have gone either way. Keeping blog is a commitment, but it could have easily fizzled out in a few months. I’m glad I managed to stick at it, because I learned a lot from it.

As well as taking notes in lectures, I actively engaged with my studies. I learned how to explain things so they’re easily understood and (hopefully) interesting.

As well as learning about the English language and passing on tidbits of this knowledge, I learnt about committing to a blog; but also about putting it to one side when more important things (like life-changing exams) come along.

English: Rhubarb pie slice served a la mode at...

Oops – now I’ve made myself hungry!

I was right in that first post, when I said that blogging is egotistical. It revolves around wish for others to read what you have to say; to like and to comment. Anything that’s egotistical, however, comes with a large slice of humble pie. Whether it’s a misplaced apostrophe in a post published without a proof-read, or a rant published too hastily, the egotistical side of the blogging coin has another side.

Keeping a blog has been incredibly beneficial to me, I’ve gained a lot from it, and I hope you have enjoyed it too – and will continue to do so!

