Tags

, , , ,

Sundays are a Day of Rest – by which I mean a Day of talking about the Rest of my life; that is, outside linguistics.

Ya huh. An A for my American Lit. essay. Boom.

So I thought I would celebrate by accepting an award I was nominated for several months ago… By a wonderful young blogger from a flock of crows.

Here goes.

This blog is now, officially, an addictive one.

All I have to do is write a post about why I blog.

Having already covered a number of reasons in my round up of 2012 and a few other blogs, I’ll make this explanation a little different.

Some of you may have wandered why my username is brightbluesaturday.

I love Goldfrapp, I think her music is beautiful, and her lyrics are easily as literary as a lot of acclaimed poets.

Her song A&E describes someone getting away from everything and escaping to a pastel moor, on a blue, bright blue, Saturday.

Blogging provides this escape for me. When things get too much, when I’m stressed about anything, I escape to my brain and write my thoughts about language. Or I learn something new about language myself and use that as an escape.

Plus, Goldfrapp’s video had dancing leaf men. What’s not to love?

I’m now supposed to nominate some people, because:

According to the rules, each nominee must make a post about why they blog, ten blogs they’re addicted to and they can also proudly display the award on their blog.

I’m not going to nominate ten, because I want the blogs I choose to be ones I feel strongly should be nominated.

So here goes.

1. Images of China Through English Eyes: I am always happily surprised at how vibrant the photos in this blog are: the colour and the life you’ll find her is fantastic.

2. Raising My Rainbow: A real-time story which never fails to fill me with emotion. You have to read this to know what I mean’ and I urge you to do so!

3. Only the Truest of Facts: I know, I know, I’ve nominated Ryan Morrison for a whole bundle of awards. But he deserves them so I’m going to carry on doing this. A laugh a day guaranteed just by clicking the follow button.

… And that’s all I’m going to give you.

I don’t want to nominate blogs I find good but not addictive, because that’s not the point of the award. I know I would be annoyed if I won it by default, so I’ll practice what I preach!

Ciao!

