Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is a Fictional Friday post, where I review a book (but it might not always be fiction)

I’m not a massive fan of science fiction.

I enjoy reading science fiction books, if I do read them, but probably wouldn’t chose to read them.

This was not the case with Le Guin‘s The Dispossessed.

Cover of first paperback edition

The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin

After the first few pages, in which I could be heard sceptically sighing, “she just referred to a gun as being phallic. Think of some better metaphors…”, I was glued. Obviously I wasn’t literally glued to the book, but I was pretty close. I don’t think I put it down until I was struggling to keep my eyes open, the first night I read it.

Le Guin takes a concept we all think we know: anarchism. That’s when everything is governed by complete chaos, right?

I mean, Yeats says so, in The Second Coming: “mere anarchy was loosed upon the world”.

She turns this concept around on her reader, and does so not only in an exciting, readable way, but also in a well-written style.

That’s the key. That’s the reason I don’t like science fiction, usually. It generally relies too much on plot and action and not enough on style.

Not Le Guin. Her book made me reconsider many established ideas, it seemed realistic, it was well formed.

It is well worth a read.

